

President Doctor Graham H BEASTALL "Laboratory Medicine Consulting' Mayfield, Birdston, Kirkintilloch

Glasgow G66 1RW – UK Tel/Fax: +44 141 776 1565 Mobile: +44 759 004 1717 Email: gbeastall@googlemail.com

Vice-President Professor Howard MORRIS Chemical Pathology Directorate SA Pathology Box 14 Rundle Mall Post Office Adelaide SA 5000 - AUSTRALIA Tel: +61 8 8222 3031 Fax: +61 8 822 3035

Fax: +61 8 822 3035 Email: Howard.Morris@health.sa.gov.au Past President

Past President

Professor Jocelyn M B HICKS 4329 Van Ness Street, NW Washington, DC 20016-5625 - USA Tel: +1 202 3630373 Fax: +1 202 3635322 Mobile: +1 202 2501057 e-mail: hicksjmb@gmail.com

Secretary

Professor Sergio BERNARDINI

Viale Tito Labieno 122 00174 Rome – ITALY Tel.: +39 06 20902262 Fax: + 39 06 20902357 Mobile: +39 3804399292 Email: bernardini@med.uniroma2.it

Treasurer

Doctor Bernard GOUGET Head of Public Health and Medical Biology Department Fédération Hospitalière de France 1 bis rue Cabanis CS41402 75993 Paris Cedex 14 - FRANCE Tel: +33 1 44068444 Fax: +33 1 44068444 Mobile: +336 0883 4604 Email: b.gouget@fht.fr

Corporate Representative Priv.-Doz. Doctor Thomas BRINKMANN

Group Chief Medical Officer Unilabs Place Cornavin 12 1201 Geneva – SWITZERLAND Tel: +41 22 909 7777 Fax: +41 22 909 7707 E-mail: ifcc@unilabs.com

Members

Professor Larry J KRICKA Department of Pathology & Laboratory Medicine 7.103 Founders Pavilion University of Pennsylvania Medical Center 3400 Spruce Street Philadelphia, PA 19104 - USA Tel: +1 215 662 6575 Fax: +1 215 662 7529 Email: kricka@mail.med.upenn.edu

Professor Vanessa STEENKAMP

Department of Pharmacology Faculty of Health Sciences University of Pretoria Private Bag X323 Arcadia, 0007 - SOUTH AFRICA Tel: +27 12 319 2547 Fax: +27 12 319 2411 Email: vanessa.steenkamp@up.ac.za

Doctor Ulisses TUMA

Rua 7 No. 380 Apto 1502 Sector Oeste Goiania - GO 74110-090 - BRAZIL Tel: +55 62 32241852 Fax: +55 62 32916579 E-mail: ultuma@terra.com.br

IFCC OFFICE

Via Carlo Farini 81 20159 Milano ITALY Tel: +39 02 66809912 Fax: +39 02 60781846 e-mail: ifcc@ifcc.org http://www.ifcc.org

From:	Graham Beastall (President)
Date:	22 January 2014
Ref:	Nominations for Membership of Task Force on Ethics

To: All National Representatives of Full and Affiliate Members To: All Corporate Members

Dear Colleagues,

The Task Force on Ethics (TF-Ethics), under the chairmanship of Professor David Bruns (US) invites nominations to fill three vacant positions to replace members who have completed their term of office.

Terms of Reference of the Task Force:

- To increase awareness among Laboratory Medicine professionals of ethical issues
- To encourage the practice of Laboratory Medicine to the highest ethical standards
- To develop position papers on appropriate ethics policy issues
- To provide a voice for Laboratory Medicine on ethics policies
 - To link Laboratory Medicine, ethics and public interest

Recent Projects:

- Promotion of a policy on publication ethics
- Preparation of a conflict of interest policy for IFCC
- Preparation of a policy for the relationship between IFCC and its Corporate Members
- Survey of training in ethics for Laboratory Medicine professionals

Possible New Projects:

- Collate guidelines relating to laboratory aspects of genetic testing
- Collate guidelines relating to the use of biobanks
- Harmonize policy for addressing misconduct in publishing scientific articles
- Develop guidelines on reporting abnormal results discovered by accident
- Create a directory of ethical interests amongst IFCC Members

Nominations should be submitted by IFCC Members. They should comprise details of the individual being nominated and a supporting statement (~500 words) indicating why he/she is a suitable person to join TF-Ethics. Experience of working with ethics and Laboratory Medicine at local or national level is required.

Nominations should be sent directly to the IFCC Office to the attention of Paola Bramati (paola.bramati@ifcc.org) before 19 March 2014. The term of office will be for a three year period in the first instance.

Yours sincerely

Graham H Beastall (President)